I bit off more than I can chew

251 posts in this topic

Posted (edited) · Report post

So this is a repost more or less from Stanceworks, but I figured why not post it here too. Not a lot of technical support on stance works really.

So I've never done a build like this before, so basically everything is a learning experience. It's more fun that way I guess

The goals were simple, build a fun clean car that would be safe, reliable and reasonably priced and probably track it.

well found this guy on craigslist for dirt cheap, kid thought it need a clutch or transmission. When I got home I found an empty clutch master and a leaking slave cylinder. $20 later...

IMG_1340_zps086a9815.jpg

IMG_1342_zpsb77aba9c.jpg

Had some awesome stereo install in it (not)

IMG_1343_zps5081446f.jpg

IMG_1344_zps894c050d.jpg

but it did have a fancy momo wheel and hub, a clean body and the engine ran.

IMG_1346_zps47c528a6.jpg

I drove it on the weekends for a short while and decided rotary wasn't my thing. This was kinda my first mistake. I decided i wanted to build a ridiculously awesome car that expanded my skills and knowledge, and because I had recently done an engine swap in my daily I decided it needed to be unique and have some different kind of engine.

In hindsight I should have just enjoyed the low power and done suspension etc first maybe do auto X and drift in the rain.

but no

I was talked into the ford small block. buddy has a sick fox mustang that he bought around the same time, and when he started getting me to help work on it and buy parts I was blown away by how simple it all was and cheap! After a little bit of google I found Granny's speed shop and this:

http://www.speedhunters.com/2009/04/speehunters_gt_gt_car_feature_gt_gt_v8_mazda_rx7_triangle_blasphemy/

rest is history.

Yanked the engine/trans/wiring and sold it for pretty close to what i paid for the car,

IMG_1531_zpsae1d5f5b.jpg

as well as most of the interior, which was in horrible condition.